City Council Elections

Every two years the citizens of Baker City elect four City Councilors, three four-year terms and one two-year term during general election. 

Elections will be held November 6, 2018. Petitions for election are available at the City Recorder's office and can be filed no earlier than May 30, 2018 and no later than August 28, 2018 by 4:00 p.m.
If you are interested in running for City Council, please contact the City Recorder at 541-524-2033. More information is also available on the Secretary of State's website. Do not begin collecting signatures until you have received written approval. The required amount of signatures for petition for election is one percent of the votes cast in the electoral district for all candidates for Governor at the last election where the
Governor was elected to a full term. Amount of verified signatures for the 2018 petition for election is 40 signatures (i.e. registered voter in the city limits).

For more information regarding City and State elections please contact the Secretary of State, 1-866-673-8683, or visit their website: 

Before Filing for City Council:
Are you a registered voter in Baker County?
Is your voter registration information current?
Are you a resident within the City limits of Baker City?
Have you lived in Baker City since at least November 6, 2017?