City Council

 The City Council is composed of 7 members who are elected by voting citizens, residents of Baker City. The Councilors select one of its members to serve as Mayor for a 2 year term.

City Council meets the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall.The City Council represents the voice of the community. The City Council is the legislative body that governs the City of Baker, proposes bills, holds votes, and passes laws and policies that help govern the city.

At each biennial general election occurring after the effective date of the adoption of this charter four councilors shall be elected. Of the four councilors so elected the one receiving the lowest number of votes shall hold office for two years, and the other three shall hold office for four years.

After taking the oath of office, councilors shall choose from its members a person who shall be mayor. The mayor is the presiding officer of Council and represents the City at a variety of meetings, conferences and ceremonial events. All seven councilors hold the same equal voting delegations. Boards and commissions members are appointed by the City Council to help advise and provide technical experience to Council decisions and discussions. 

Annually, the Council will review previous goals and their accomplishments and then set new and/or modify old Council goals.



Rules of procedure for use at meetings of the City Council (PDF)
Please review Council Packets and Council Minutes by clicking "Meeting Materials and Webcasts"

Ordinances and Resolutions are passed as law within Baker City created by City Council. Current regulations can be found by clicking the Municipal Code button to the left. 
For additional information please view a list of the City Council members.